Halal is an Arabic word meaning “permissible” and therefore, in terms of halal food it means food that is permissible according to Islamic law.
For meat and other food items to be considered halal there are stipulations and conditions that render it halal or haram – an Arabic term meaning non-permissible or unlawful in Islam.
Muslims are taught through their sacred texts that all animals should be treated with respect and be well cared for. According to Islamic halal requirements there are certain rules that must be adhered to: Allah’s/God’s name must be said during the slaughter process; the slaughter must be conducted by a believer in the sacred texts; and they must ensure the minimum amount of vessels are severed and the animal is drained of its flowing blood before its carcass is further processed.
What is haram?
Haram is another Arabic term which means impermissible or unlawful in Islam. Some factors that deem a certain product haram are: meat from pigs including all its by-products; meat of an animal that was not blessed with the name of Allah at the time of slaughter; all types of alcohol and intoxicating drugs; blood.